2013 - USA International Woolmark Prize


JULY 10, 2012

Sophie Theallet was announced as the USA winner of the International Woolmark Prize, a new initiative by the Woolmark Company aimed at promoting emerging international design talent from around the world.

Theallet, who was also awarded the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Award in 2009 and has previously worked under designers such as Azzedine Alaia and Jean Paul Gaultier, beat out competition from nine other American designers for the award, which includes a $100,000 grant and the opportunity to design a capsule collection made entirely of Australian Merino wool.

The International Woolmark Prize is a fashion design award that identifies the world's foremost emerging designers, whilst highlighting the diverse interpretations of Merino wool within their collections.

First held in 1954 as an initiative of the International Wool Secretariat (IWS), the award launched the careers of iconic fashion designers Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent. Today, the International Woolmark Prize crosses borders and cultures by recognising outstanding new talent from emerging and established fashion hotspots.

The competition has gained extraordinary momentum, generating significant interest across the globe and evolving into a highly coveted, internationally recognised award.


DECEMBER 31, 2009


Last night, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and VOGUE announced the recipients of the sixth annual awards from the CFDA/VOGUE Fashion Fund (CVFF). The winners and runners-up are:

Sophie Théallet
Monique Pean
Patrik Ervell

The winner and runners-up will meet regularly with a team of business mentors, who will be assembled based on the designers’ specific needs for business expertise and resources. Additionally, the winner will receive $200,000 and the runners-up will each get $50,000. The cash awards are designed to encourage and enable these emerging designers to pursue their design plans. Since its inception in 2003, the program has granted $1.8 million to fifteen different design companies, including 3.1 Phillip Lim, Albertus Swanepoel, Alexander Wang, Doo.Ri, Derek Lam, Philip Crangi, Proenza Schouler, Rodarte, Rogan, Thakoon, Thom Browne, Trovata, and Vena Cava.

1984 - National Young Designer Award  - sponsored by le printemps - France